“AI for SLPs” covers three very totally different sorts of software, & most lists mash them collectively. There are basic assistants (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini) that draft textual content. There are training & supplies instruments (MagicSchool, Diffit, Brisk, Magic Studio) that flip a immediate into one thing you’ll be able to hand a scholar. And there are documentation instruments (Ambiki, SLPFlow, Twofold & others) that write session notes. Which one you want relies on the place your hours truly go, & on whether or not you’re employed underneath FERPA, HIPAA, or each.
This is the TLDR (costs checked October 2026):
- Speech Remedy Magic (Magic Studio) – Finest for: interactive follow decks with built-in pronunciation scoring. $9.99/mo or $79.99/yr after a 7-day trial, no card.
- ChatGPT or Claude (educator editions) – Finest for: drafting phrase lists, tales, mum or dad letters. Free for verified US Okay-12 educators; $20/mo shopper plans in any other case.
- MagicSchool – Finest for: faculty SLPs who need teacher-style templates, together with an IEP generator. Free; Plus $12.99/mo.
- Diffit – Finest for: leveled studying passages & questions for language objectives. Free tier; $14.99/mo particular person.
- Ambiki – Finest for: non-public practices that need an EMR with an AI scribe & a BAA. $59/person/mo.
- SLPFlow – Finest for: solo clinicians who simply need AI session notes. From $20/mo.
- Brisk Instructing – Finest for: SLPs who dwell in Google Docs & Slides. Free; Educator Professional $14.99.
Earlier than any of those contact an actual scholar, learn the privateness part beneath. ASHA’s steering is that you need to “assume that every one generative AI instruments are usually not HIPAA compliant, except vetted by your facility’s privateness, authorized, or compliance staff,” & that applies to a number of instruments on this record.
The Comparability Desk
| Software | Sort | Worth (Oct 2026) | Free choice | Pupil-data stance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Speech Remedy Magic | Supplies + follow platform | $9.99/mo or $79.99/yr | 7-day trial, no card (no free plan) | No scholar accounts; deck briefs generated by way of OpenAI as a listed subprocessor |
| ChatGPT | Basic assistant | Plus $20/mo | Free tier; free ChatGPT for Academics for verified US Okay-12 workers | Shopper plans prepare by default (opt-out); BAA solely on Enterprise/Edu |
| Claude | Basic assistant | Professional $20/mo ($17/mo yearly) | Free tier; free Claude for Academics for verified US Okay-12 educators | Instructor version does not prepare; BAA solely on HIPAA-enabled Enterprise |
| MagicSchool | Instructor AI toolkit | Plus $12.99/mo or $99.96/yr | Free plan | iKeepSafe FERPA & COPPA certifications, helps the SDPC information privateness settlement |
| Diffit | Leveled supplies | $14.99/mo or $149.99/yr | Free primary tier | No scholar logins; claims FERPA/COPPA compliance |
| Brisk Instructing | Chrome extension | Educator Professional $14.99 | Free plan with day by day limits | Claims FERPA/COPPA compliance; SOC 2 in progress |
| Ambiki | Apply administration + AI scribe | $59/person/mo (Restricted plan $25) | 30-day trial | HIPAA, BAA with lined entities |
| SLPFlow | AI session notes | $20/mo Primary, $49/mo Skilled | 14-day trial | Claims HIPAA compliance & indicators BAAs |
| Twofold | AI scribe with SLP templates | See present pricing | Free for per week | BAA included for all customers |
1. Speech Remedy Magic (Magic Studio) – Finest for Interactive, Scored Apply
We record it first as a result of it is the one software right here designed for speech remedy from the scholar’s aspect, somewhat than tailored from a trainer toolkit or a note-taker.
Magic Studio is a no-code deck builder with 22 aspect sorts: flashcards, image selections, minimal-pair pickers, recording prompts & extra. The AI piece is the deck temporary: describe the deck you need (“20 preliminary /okay/ playing cards with actual footage, then a 5-question quiz”) & it drafts the entire deck so that you can edit. Publish it & college students open it with a 6-digit PIN in any browser, with no account & nothing to put in. Recording prompts rating the kid’s phrase & every sound in it utilizing ArticScore, the platform’s personal pronunciation engine, & outcomes land in that kid’s progress charts by sound & place. The plan additionally consists of video games, personalised tales & printable worksheets.
The place others beat it: the ready-made library is small (11 video games & seven listed decks in its deck market, versus 1000’s of actions on SLP Now or The Digital SLP). The plan covers 3 scholar profiles, with extras at $4.99/mo every as much as 10, so a 50-student faculty caseload does not match with out contacting them. It has no IEP, documentation or billing options. And the pronunciation scores are follow suggestions: they do not detect distortions & have not been validated on disordered baby speech, so they are not evaluation information. Pricing is $9.99/mo or $79.99/yr after a 7-day trial with no card, & there isn’t any free plan (pricing).
Best for you if: you construct your personal digital supplies & need college students to follow out loud with suggestions between classes, particularly in teletherapy.
2. ChatGPT & Claude – Finest for Drafting Textual content
For phrase lists, sound-loaded tales, social eventualities & mum or dad letters, a basic assistant remains to be the quickest software there’s. The large change for school-based SLPs is that each now have free educator editions: ChatGPT for Academics is free for verified US Okay-12 workers, & Claude for Academics is free for verified US Okay-12 educators, explicitly together with specialists & interventionists. Neither trains in your conversations. Outdoors Okay-12, ChatGPT Plus & Claude Professional are every $20/mo (Claude is $17/mo billed yearly).
The place they fall brief: they suppose in spelling, not sound, so articulation lists come again with “knife” underneath /okay/ & clusters you did not ask for. They can not hear a baby. And the buyer plans aren’t lined by a BAA. We wrote a full information with copy-paste prompts & the error patterns to verify: how SLPs can use ChatGPT & Claude for remedy supplies.
Best for you if: most of your prep time goes into writing, & you are disciplined about retaining scholar particulars out.
3. MagicSchool – Finest for Faculty SLPs Who Need Templates
MagicSchool is constructed for lecturers, however its 80+ instruments embody a number of SLPs attain for: an IEP generator for objectives & lodging, textual content leveling, social tales & mum or dad emails. Its actual benefit over a uncooked chatbot is paperwork: it holds iKeepSafe FERPA & COPPA certifications & helps the Pupil Information Privateness Consortium’s nationwide settlement, which makes district approval a lot simpler. The free plan is usable; Plus is $12.99/mo or $99.96/yr.
The place it falls brief: nothing within the public catalog is constructed round speech sounds, so you will hit the identical spelling-vs-sound errors as ChatGPT. (MagicSchool has printed a case research a couple of customized speech-therapy software it constructed for one remedy firm, however that is not within the public product so far as we might inform.)
Best for you if: your district already permitted it, otherwise you want a software that may get permitted.
4. Diffit – Finest for Leveled Passages on Language Targets
Diffit takes a subject, article or video & produces a leveled studying passage with vocabulary, questions & graphic organizers. For SLPs engaged on comprehension, vocabulary or narrative objectives alongside classroom content material, that is a real time-saver, & there are not any scholar logins. The free tier limits you to sources from the final 90 days; the person plan is $14.99/mo or $149.99/yr, & first-year lecturers get premium free for now.
Best for you if: you push into school rooms & need curriculum-linked language supplies quick.
5. Ambiki – Finest for Non-public Apply Documentation
Ambiki is a practice-management system for SLPs, OTs & PTs (scheduling, billing, documentation, a affected person portal) with an AI Scribe that turns typed or dictated notes right into a SOAP be aware. The Skilled plan is $59/person/mo, a Restricted plan is $25/person/mo with month-to-month caps, & there is a $1-per-session add-on referred to as Tenalog that data a session & drafts the be aware (one-to-one classes in English). Ambiki says it covers affected person information underneath a BAA. It additionally has remedy instruments & a teletherapy room as add-ons, although its built-in sport library is small.
Best for you if: you run a non-public follow & need AI notes inside the identical HIPAA-covered system as your billing.
6. SLPFlow, Twofold & Different AI Word Instruments
If notes are your bottleneck however you do not want a full EMR, there’s now a small class of SLP-focused scribes. SLPFlow drafts SOAP, DAP & IEP-progress notes, tracks objectives & cueing, & prices $20/mo (Primary) or $49/mo (Skilled) with a 14-day trial; it says it indicators BAAs & does not prepare on affected person information. Twofold is a basic AI scribe with speech-therapy templates (articulation, fluency, voice) & features a BAA for each person; its pricing web page was displaying a first-month promotion once we checked, so affirm the continued value. SLPDesk targets faculty SLPs with AI notes & IEP objective templates (free for 10 college students, Professional $24/mo), although its website does not say who runs it, so ask for its information processing settlement earlier than you place scholar information in.
Whichever you attempt, ask three questions: Will you signal a BAA (or a district DPA)? Is audio saved, & for a way lengthy? Is my information used to coach fashions? ASHA’s information to evaluating merchandise is a helpful guidelines for the scientific aspect.
7. Brisk Instructing – Finest Inside Google Docs
Brisk is a Chrome extension that works inside Google Docs, Slides & internet pages: stage a textual content, construct a fast presentation, draft suggestions. It is free with day by day limits, & Educator Professional is $14.99 (Brisk’s plans web page does not state the billing interval clearly, so verify earlier than you improve). Helpful for SLPs whose supplies already dwell in Google Drive; nothing in it’s speech-specific.
Additionally Price Understanding About
- Gemini for Training: in case your district runs Google Workspace for Training, the Gemini app is included at no further price & Google says that information is not used to coach its fashions. That could be the best permitted choice you have already got.
- Canva for Training: free for Okay-12 lecturers, with AI writing & exercise instruments for making visuals.
- Textual content-to-speech & voice instruments: helpful for listening duties & fashions, however by no means add a baby’s voice. Our ElevenLabs assessment covers what fashionable voices sound like.
- Pronunciation-scoring apps: a separate class with actual limits on baby speech. The sibling information on apps that rating a baby’s pronunciation covers it, & the greatest AI speech remedy apps for teenagers covers the family-facing aspect.
The Privateness Part You Should not Skip
ASHA’s generative AI sources for clinicians are the very best single reference right here. The brief model, from its safety web page: “Delicate, proprietary, and personally identifiable data (PII) shouldn’t be entered into generative AI instruments,” even on a paid account. It additionally warns towards naming a uncommon dysfunction in a immediate, since that alone can establish a consumer.
- Colleges (FERPA): the Division of Training’s FERPA steering defines PII to incorporate oblique & linkable particulars, not simply names, & the laws record voiceprints as biometric data. Use instruments your district has an information settlement with.
- Clinics (HIPAA): no BAA, no PHI. On ChatGPT meaning Enterprise or Edu; on Claude, HIPAA-enabled Enterprise. Instruments like Ambiki, SLPFlow & Twofold promote BAAs, which is the purpose of utilizing them for notes.
- Telepractice: AI options inside video platforms rely too. ASHA’s Telepractice follow portal covers the platform-security fundamentals, & our protection of Zoom’s AI coaching coverage reversal reveals why it is price studying the phrases.
And regardless of the software, verify the output. AI is confidently unsuitable in ways in which matter clinically (developmental norms, made-up citations, unsuitable phonemes). Our explainer on AI hallucinations covers why.
Which One Ought to You Decide?
- Faculty SLP, largely prepping supplies: your district’s permitted assistant (or the free ChatGPT/Claude educator version) plus MagicSchool or Diffit. Add Magic Studio if you’d like college students working towards out loud between classes.
- Non-public follow, drowning in notes: Ambiki in the event you additionally want billing & scheduling; SLPFlow or Twofold in the event you solely want notes.
- Teletherapy SLP: browser-based supplies matter most. Magic Studio decks open from a PIN with no set up; see our Increase Playing cards options information for the remainder of that class.
- Need a ready-made library as an alternative of AI: that is a distinct buy. Our SLP supplies subscriptions comparability covers Final SLP, SLP Now, The Digital SLP & Speechy Musings.
How We Evaluated These
We grouped instruments by the job they do for an SLP (drafting, supplies, follow, documentation) & judged every on 4 issues: how a lot of the job it does with out rework, whether or not it understands speech sounds somewhat than spelling, its student-data phrases (BAA, FERPA/COPPA certifications, coaching defaults), & complete price for one clinician. Costs & options have been checked on every vendor’s personal website in October 2026; the place a vendor blocked automated entry (OpenAI) or did not state a billing interval (Brisk), we are saying so. We did not run a hands-on accuracy benchmark of those instruments & we’re not claiming one. Speech Remedy Magic information come from its dwell product & pricing pages.
FAQ
What’s the greatest free AI software for speech-language pathologists?
For US Okay-12 SLPs, the free educator editions of ChatGPT & Claude are the very best free place to begin as a result of they do not prepare in your chats. MagicSchool’s & Brisk’s free plans are good second instruments. Outdoors faculties, the free shopper tiers work for generic supplies so long as no consumer data goes in.
Is there a HIPAA-compliant AI for SLPs?
A number of documentation instruments say they signal BAAs, together with Ambiki, SLPFlow & Twofold. A BAA is critical however not ample: have your follow’s compliance lead assessment the phrases, & comply with ASHA’s recommendation to deal with any unvetted AI software as not HIPAA compliant.
Can AI write IEP objectives for speech remedy?
It could draft template wording rapidly (MagicSchool & SLPDesk have instruments for it). It could’t know your scholar’s baseline, & you should not give a shopper software that information. The ultimate objective ought to come from your personal analysis, written in your district’s system.
Will AI substitute speech-language pathologists?
ASHA’s place is that generative AI cannot substitute the clinician & that clinicians keep accountable for something it produces. In follow, these instruments save prep & paperwork time; the evaluation, scientific judgment & relationship stick with you.
Does Speech Remedy Magic have a free plan?
No. Each account will get a 7-day trial of the entire platform with no card, then it is $9.99/mo or $79.99/yr. In case you do not subscribe, the account locks however your decks & scholar information keep.
Disclosure: Justin Gluska, who writes for Gold Penguin, additionally builds Speech Remedy Magic, which seems on this article.
“AI for SLPs” covers three very totally different sorts of software, & most lists mash them collectively. There are basic assistants (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini) that draft textual content. There are training & supplies instruments (MagicSchool, Diffit, Brisk, Magic Studio) that flip a immediate into one thing you’ll be able to hand a scholar. And there are documentation instruments (Ambiki, SLPFlow, Twofold & others) that write session notes. Which one you want relies on the place your hours truly go, & on whether or not you’re employed underneath FERPA, HIPAA, or each.
This is the TLDR (costs checked October 2026):
- Speech Remedy Magic (Magic Studio) – Finest for: interactive follow decks with built-in pronunciation scoring. $9.99/mo or $79.99/yr after a 7-day trial, no card.
- ChatGPT or Claude (educator editions) – Finest for: drafting phrase lists, tales, mum or dad letters. Free for verified US Okay-12 educators; $20/mo shopper plans in any other case.
- MagicSchool – Finest for: faculty SLPs who need teacher-style templates, together with an IEP generator. Free; Plus $12.99/mo.
- Diffit – Finest for: leveled studying passages & questions for language objectives. Free tier; $14.99/mo particular person.
- Ambiki – Finest for: non-public practices that need an EMR with an AI scribe & a BAA. $59/person/mo.
- SLPFlow – Finest for: solo clinicians who simply need AI session notes. From $20/mo.
- Brisk Instructing – Finest for: SLPs who dwell in Google Docs & Slides. Free; Educator Professional $14.99.
Earlier than any of those contact an actual scholar, learn the privateness part beneath. ASHA’s steering is that you need to “assume that every one generative AI instruments are usually not HIPAA compliant, except vetted by your facility’s privateness, authorized, or compliance staff,” & that applies to a number of instruments on this record.
The Comparability Desk
| Software | Sort | Worth (Oct 2026) | Free choice | Pupil-data stance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Speech Remedy Magic | Supplies + follow platform | $9.99/mo or $79.99/yr | 7-day trial, no card (no free plan) | No scholar accounts; deck briefs generated by way of OpenAI as a listed subprocessor |
| ChatGPT | Basic assistant | Plus $20/mo | Free tier; free ChatGPT for Academics for verified US Okay-12 workers | Shopper plans prepare by default (opt-out); BAA solely on Enterprise/Edu |
| Claude | Basic assistant | Professional $20/mo ($17/mo yearly) | Free tier; free Claude for Academics for verified US Okay-12 educators | Instructor version does not prepare; BAA solely on HIPAA-enabled Enterprise |
| MagicSchool | Instructor AI toolkit | Plus $12.99/mo or $99.96/yr | Free plan | iKeepSafe FERPA & COPPA certifications, helps the SDPC information privateness settlement |
| Diffit | Leveled supplies | $14.99/mo or $149.99/yr | Free primary tier | No scholar logins; claims FERPA/COPPA compliance |
| Brisk Instructing | Chrome extension | Educator Professional $14.99 | Free plan with day by day limits | Claims FERPA/COPPA compliance; SOC 2 in progress |
| Ambiki | Apply administration + AI scribe | $59/person/mo (Restricted plan $25) | 30-day trial | HIPAA, BAA with lined entities |
| SLPFlow | AI session notes | $20/mo Primary, $49/mo Skilled | 14-day trial | Claims HIPAA compliance & indicators BAAs |
| Twofold | AI scribe with SLP templates | See present pricing | Free for per week | BAA included for all customers |
1. Speech Remedy Magic (Magic Studio) – Finest for Interactive, Scored Apply
We record it first as a result of it is the one software right here designed for speech remedy from the scholar’s aspect, somewhat than tailored from a trainer toolkit or a note-taker.
Magic Studio is a no-code deck builder with 22 aspect sorts: flashcards, image selections, minimal-pair pickers, recording prompts & extra. The AI piece is the deck temporary: describe the deck you need (“20 preliminary /okay/ playing cards with actual footage, then a 5-question quiz”) & it drafts the entire deck so that you can edit. Publish it & college students open it with a 6-digit PIN in any browser, with no account & nothing to put in. Recording prompts rating the kid’s phrase & every sound in it utilizing ArticScore, the platform’s personal pronunciation engine, & outcomes land in that kid’s progress charts by sound & place. The plan additionally consists of video games, personalised tales & printable worksheets.
The place others beat it: the ready-made library is small (11 video games & seven listed decks in its deck market, versus 1000’s of actions on SLP Now or The Digital SLP). The plan covers 3 scholar profiles, with extras at $4.99/mo every as much as 10, so a 50-student faculty caseload does not match with out contacting them. It has no IEP, documentation or billing options. And the pronunciation scores are follow suggestions: they do not detect distortions & have not been validated on disordered baby speech, so they are not evaluation information. Pricing is $9.99/mo or $79.99/yr after a 7-day trial with no card, & there isn’t any free plan (pricing).
Best for you if: you construct your personal digital supplies & need college students to follow out loud with suggestions between classes, particularly in teletherapy.
2. ChatGPT & Claude – Finest for Drafting Textual content
For phrase lists, sound-loaded tales, social eventualities & mum or dad letters, a basic assistant remains to be the quickest software there’s. The large change for school-based SLPs is that each now have free educator editions: ChatGPT for Academics is free for verified US Okay-12 workers, & Claude for Academics is free for verified US Okay-12 educators, explicitly together with specialists & interventionists. Neither trains in your conversations. Outdoors Okay-12, ChatGPT Plus & Claude Professional are every $20/mo (Claude is $17/mo billed yearly).
The place they fall brief: they suppose in spelling, not sound, so articulation lists come again with “knife” underneath /okay/ & clusters you did not ask for. They can not hear a baby. And the buyer plans aren’t lined by a BAA. We wrote a full information with copy-paste prompts & the error patterns to verify: how SLPs can use ChatGPT & Claude for remedy supplies.
Best for you if: most of your prep time goes into writing, & you are disciplined about retaining scholar particulars out.
3. MagicSchool – Finest for Faculty SLPs Who Need Templates
MagicSchool is constructed for lecturers, however its 80+ instruments embody a number of SLPs attain for: an IEP generator for objectives & lodging, textual content leveling, social tales & mum or dad emails. Its actual benefit over a uncooked chatbot is paperwork: it holds iKeepSafe FERPA & COPPA certifications & helps the Pupil Information Privateness Consortium’s nationwide settlement, which makes district approval a lot simpler. The free plan is usable; Plus is $12.99/mo or $99.96/yr.
The place it falls brief: nothing within the public catalog is constructed round speech sounds, so you will hit the identical spelling-vs-sound errors as ChatGPT. (MagicSchool has printed a case research a couple of customized speech-therapy software it constructed for one remedy firm, however that is not within the public product so far as we might inform.)
Best for you if: your district already permitted it, otherwise you want a software that may get permitted.
4. Diffit – Finest for Leveled Passages on Language Targets
Diffit takes a subject, article or video & produces a leveled studying passage with vocabulary, questions & graphic organizers. For SLPs engaged on comprehension, vocabulary or narrative objectives alongside classroom content material, that is a real time-saver, & there are not any scholar logins. The free tier limits you to sources from the final 90 days; the person plan is $14.99/mo or $149.99/yr, & first-year lecturers get premium free for now.
Best for you if: you push into school rooms & need curriculum-linked language supplies quick.
5. Ambiki – Finest for Non-public Apply Documentation
Ambiki is a practice-management system for SLPs, OTs & PTs (scheduling, billing, documentation, a affected person portal) with an AI Scribe that turns typed or dictated notes right into a SOAP be aware. The Skilled plan is $59/person/mo, a Restricted plan is $25/person/mo with month-to-month caps, & there is a $1-per-session add-on referred to as Tenalog that data a session & drafts the be aware (one-to-one classes in English). Ambiki says it covers affected person information underneath a BAA. It additionally has remedy instruments & a teletherapy room as add-ons, although its built-in sport library is small.
Best for you if: you run a non-public follow & need AI notes inside the identical HIPAA-covered system as your billing.
6. SLPFlow, Twofold & Different AI Word Instruments
If notes are your bottleneck however you do not want a full EMR, there’s now a small class of SLP-focused scribes. SLPFlow drafts SOAP, DAP & IEP-progress notes, tracks objectives & cueing, & prices $20/mo (Primary) or $49/mo (Skilled) with a 14-day trial; it says it indicators BAAs & does not prepare on affected person information. Twofold is a basic AI scribe with speech-therapy templates (articulation, fluency, voice) & features a BAA for each person; its pricing web page was displaying a first-month promotion once we checked, so affirm the continued value. SLPDesk targets faculty SLPs with AI notes & IEP objective templates (free for 10 college students, Professional $24/mo), although its website does not say who runs it, so ask for its information processing settlement earlier than you place scholar information in.
Whichever you attempt, ask three questions: Will you signal a BAA (or a district DPA)? Is audio saved, & for a way lengthy? Is my information used to coach fashions? ASHA’s information to evaluating merchandise is a helpful guidelines for the scientific aspect.
7. Brisk Instructing – Finest Inside Google Docs
Brisk is a Chrome extension that works inside Google Docs, Slides & internet pages: stage a textual content, construct a fast presentation, draft suggestions. It is free with day by day limits, & Educator Professional is $14.99 (Brisk’s plans web page does not state the billing interval clearly, so verify earlier than you improve). Helpful for SLPs whose supplies already dwell in Google Drive; nothing in it’s speech-specific.
Additionally Price Understanding About
- Gemini for Training: in case your district runs Google Workspace for Training, the Gemini app is included at no further price & Google says that information is not used to coach its fashions. That could be the best permitted choice you have already got.
- Canva for Training: free for Okay-12 lecturers, with AI writing & exercise instruments for making visuals.
- Textual content-to-speech & voice instruments: helpful for listening duties & fashions, however by no means add a baby’s voice. Our ElevenLabs assessment covers what fashionable voices sound like.
- Pronunciation-scoring apps: a separate class with actual limits on baby speech. The sibling information on apps that rating a baby’s pronunciation covers it, & the greatest AI speech remedy apps for teenagers covers the family-facing aspect.
The Privateness Part You Should not Skip
ASHA’s generative AI sources for clinicians are the very best single reference right here. The brief model, from its safety web page: “Delicate, proprietary, and personally identifiable data (PII) shouldn’t be entered into generative AI instruments,” even on a paid account. It additionally warns towards naming a uncommon dysfunction in a immediate, since that alone can establish a consumer.
- Colleges (FERPA): the Division of Training’s FERPA steering defines PII to incorporate oblique & linkable particulars, not simply names, & the laws record voiceprints as biometric data. Use instruments your district has an information settlement with.
- Clinics (HIPAA): no BAA, no PHI. On ChatGPT meaning Enterprise or Edu; on Claude, HIPAA-enabled Enterprise. Instruments like Ambiki, SLPFlow & Twofold promote BAAs, which is the purpose of utilizing them for notes.
- Telepractice: AI options inside video platforms rely too. ASHA’s Telepractice follow portal covers the platform-security fundamentals, & our protection of Zoom’s AI coaching coverage reversal reveals why it is price studying the phrases.
And regardless of the software, verify the output. AI is confidently unsuitable in ways in which matter clinically (developmental norms, made-up citations, unsuitable phonemes). Our explainer on AI hallucinations covers why.
Which One Ought to You Decide?
- Faculty SLP, largely prepping supplies: your district’s permitted assistant (or the free ChatGPT/Claude educator version) plus MagicSchool or Diffit. Add Magic Studio if you’d like college students working towards out loud between classes.
- Non-public follow, drowning in notes: Ambiki in the event you additionally want billing & scheduling; SLPFlow or Twofold in the event you solely want notes.
- Teletherapy SLP: browser-based supplies matter most. Magic Studio decks open from a PIN with no set up; see our Increase Playing cards options information for the remainder of that class.
- Need a ready-made library as an alternative of AI: that is a distinct buy. Our SLP supplies subscriptions comparability covers Final SLP, SLP Now, The Digital SLP & Speechy Musings.
How We Evaluated These
We grouped instruments by the job they do for an SLP (drafting, supplies, follow, documentation) & judged every on 4 issues: how a lot of the job it does with out rework, whether or not it understands speech sounds somewhat than spelling, its student-data phrases (BAA, FERPA/COPPA certifications, coaching defaults), & complete price for one clinician. Costs & options have been checked on every vendor’s personal website in October 2026; the place a vendor blocked automated entry (OpenAI) or did not state a billing interval (Brisk), we are saying so. We did not run a hands-on accuracy benchmark of those instruments & we’re not claiming one. Speech Remedy Magic information come from its dwell product & pricing pages.
FAQ
What’s the greatest free AI software for speech-language pathologists?
For US Okay-12 SLPs, the free educator editions of ChatGPT & Claude are the very best free place to begin as a result of they do not prepare in your chats. MagicSchool’s & Brisk’s free plans are good second instruments. Outdoors faculties, the free shopper tiers work for generic supplies so long as no consumer data goes in.
Is there a HIPAA-compliant AI for SLPs?
A number of documentation instruments say they signal BAAs, together with Ambiki, SLPFlow & Twofold. A BAA is critical however not ample: have your follow’s compliance lead assessment the phrases, & comply with ASHA’s recommendation to deal with any unvetted AI software as not HIPAA compliant.
Can AI write IEP objectives for speech remedy?
It could draft template wording rapidly (MagicSchool & SLPDesk have instruments for it). It could’t know your scholar’s baseline, & you should not give a shopper software that information. The ultimate objective ought to come from your personal analysis, written in your district’s system.
Will AI substitute speech-language pathologists?
ASHA’s place is that generative AI cannot substitute the clinician & that clinicians keep accountable for something it produces. In follow, these instruments save prep & paperwork time; the evaluation, scientific judgment & relationship stick with you.
Does Speech Remedy Magic have a free plan?
No. Each account will get a 7-day trial of the entire platform with no card, then it is $9.99/mo or $79.99/yr. In case you do not subscribe, the account locks however your decks & scholar information keep.
Disclosure: Justin Gluska, who writes for Gold Penguin, additionally builds Speech Remedy Magic, which seems on this article.
















